A Bicycle Built for Two

One of my goals for the summer was to figure out some way to start biking with the Bug.  Now that he’s at a new (and better) daycare, he is closer to my office.  I figured it would be fun and planet-saving to bike to work, dropping Bug off on the way.  In typical fashion, however, I spent half the summer in a fit of angst about which method of toddler-transporting to choose.  The good old fashioned rear seat? Or the cooky front seat?  The demographically-correct Burley trailer? The lovely but expensive Madsen cargo bike?  The even lovelier, even more expensive bakefiets?  Actually the latter was never an option since it was way, way out of our price range.  Each seemed to have its advantages and disadvantages, and the prices were all over the map.  To top it off, I had to get myself a new bike first.

In the end, I found myself a nice old ladies Schwinn on Craigslist, and went with the deluxe front-set from BoBike.  We tried the cheaper Ibert front seat first, but the Bug had a tantrum when I tried to get him into it and I really had to bow out my knees to ride with it.  Then when BD and I were on our Pacific Northwest Idyll I saw a dad and son riding with the BoBike mini and I knew it was for me.  I ordered it when we got home, introduced it to the Bug over a series of days — first just putting him in it and rolling him around the driveway, then taking short rides in the neighborhood, then finally starting to ride to and from daycare.  Once he got used to it (and accepted the fact that in order to go on the incredibly fun and exhilarating bicycle he was going to have to wear a f***ing helmet) he loves riding on it, and I consider our commute together one of the best parts of my day.  We ride in the summer sunshine, chat about the cars and trucks and dogs we are seeing, and I don’t have to deal with parking.  I’ll continue this as long as the weather permits, which I’m hoping will be well into November.

0 Responses to “A Bicycle Built for Two”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

